Notable Nevadans





June 23, 2016

Mr. HELLER: Mr. President, today, I wish to recognize one of Nevada’s brightest students, Brandon Rasmussen, on being selected as a recipient of the 2016 Barry Goldwater Scholarship. Mr. Rasmussen is the sole recipient of this scholarship in the State of Nevada and one of nine students in the history of the University of Nevada, Reno (UNR) to be selected as a Barry Goldwater Scholar.

The Barry Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Program was created in 1986 by the U.S. Congress in honor of Barry Goldwater’s service to our country. The scholarship recognizes students in pursuit of science, technology, engineering, and mathematics studies who plan to conduct research in these fields. In addition, the program awards recipients with $7,500 for future educational opportunities. I extend my sincerest congratulations to Mr. Rasmussen on this significant achievement.

Mr. Rasmussen is an Honors Program student at UNR, pursuing his bachelor’s degrees in geology and geophysics, in addition to studying mathematics and physics. During his freshman year, he conducted research with Craig de Polo of the Nevada Bureau of Mines and Geology, where Mr. Rasmussen helped create research on flooding in Reno and coauthored a publication on the ditch flooding and historical damage in the Reno area. After completing his undergraduate degree, he plans to earn his master’s and doctorate degrees in a similar field. His determination and unwavering resolve to excel in his academic pursuits have not gone unnoticed. Mr. Rasmussen stands as a shining example to other Wolf Pack students of what hard work can accomplish.

Today, I ask my colleagues and all Nevadans to join me in congratulating Mr. Rasmussen. He has worked hard to earn this incredible scholarship, and I wish him the best of luck in his future endeavors.

Pursuant to Senate Policy, petitions, opinion polls and unsolicited mass electronic communications cannot be initiated by this office for the 60-day period immediately before the date of a primary or general election. Subscribers currently receiving electronic communications from this office who wish to unsubscribe may do so here.